Finally spring!

26 03 2012

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU Hamburg, for such lovely spring weather and sun this past week! I’ve really needed that. And our balcony was looking pretty sad with all its dried up flowers and herbs from the winter…so Tobias and I picked out some flowers together and I planted them last week.

Here are the before / after pics:

Much better with the flowers, isn’t it? In the afternoons, our balcony gets some sun and so I’ve finally been able to sit out there and enjoy it. I even scrubbed off the green scum (algae?) from the edges of the floor and it seems extra fresh.

For comparison, here’s how our balcony looked last year:

I think I like this year’s a bit better! I’m a big fan of pansies (called Stiefmütterchen in German – “little stepmothers”), and I think they pack a little more punch than last year’s more delicate flowers.

Now all we need is to buy our kitchen herbs for the other box planter and we’ll be good to go! We’re thinking rosemary, thyme, oregano and sage like last year, and this year we’re adding mint into the mix. Yum. Nothing like a fresh mint leaf on top of an ice cream sundae…or fresh mint tea…

Welcome, spring! Please take off your shoes, relax and stick around a while!


Actions

Information

2 responses

26 03 2012
Julia

I still enjoy your blog so much! I am just crap at commenting!❤ Loving your balcony garden! Maybe you guys could have a tomato bush too – and a little herb garden!!!

26 03 2012
sarahgilmour

Aw thanks, Julia! Ooh a tomato bush sounds lovely – today at the grocery store I saw strawberry plants and thought that might be nice, too! I can’t wait to get the herbs (hopefully this week) and use them in cooking again. It’s really so nice!

Leave a Reply

