Fluffernutter!

7 02 2012

I’ve never actually had a fluffernutter. But I always just enjoyed marshmallow creme as a topping for hot chocolate, and my mom and grandma always made a fruit dip using maraschino cherry juice mixed with marshmallow fluff.

Two weeks ago, I was absolutely SHOCKED to find it at Edeka, a nearby supermarket! I think it was about 3€, it being imported and all, but I decided to splurge on it anyway. And my hot chocolate has certainly thanked me!

“It doesn’t get more American than this!” (TRUE THAT – except maybe for cheese in a spray can…)

“The most popular sandwich in the USA!”  (Not really sure about “most” popular…that’d probably be the regular PB&J, with the Fluffernutter being perhaps a close second.

“Spread a piece of white bread with Marshmallow Fluff, put a second piece of white bread with peanut butter on it, and stick both halves together, and your Fluffernutter is ready!”


Actions

Information

4 responses

7 02 2012
CN Heidelberg

I always thought Fluffernutter was a New England or East Coast thing, since I never heard about it growing up in the Midwest, but it was big in Massachusetts. I should see if our Edeka has fluff….it’s good for making lots of things!

13 02 2012
sarahgilmour

Perhaps it is an East Coast thing. I never had any growing up, though. I really love it with hot chocolate!

7 02 2012
pongetongerong

The only problem with making a Fluffernutter in Europe is that, sure you can find the Marshmallow for 3 euro, but then the peanut butter costs 6 euro!

13 02 2012
sarahgilmour

You’re right, it’s not exactly cheap. Even 3€ for Marshmallow Fluff seems a bit steep, doesn’t it?

I don’t think I’ve ever actually HAD a Fluffernutter! I’d much rather have a Nutella & banana sandwich, actually!

Leave a Reply

