Save The Date

23 01 2012

This Saturday, instead of working on those shoe flowers I talked about, I made a short stop motion Save The Date video!

*For my American readers, that’s August 4, 2012, not April 8th! The Europeans write the date backwards! We’re having a summer wedding!

It’s just a short little clip – but I had fun making it! I’ve always loved stop motion clips and really wanted to do something like that for my own wedding. My technique was simple. Our hardwood floors are pretty and so I decided to go with a natural theme, so I cut some felt to make grass and a simple tree. I sewed some sequins on a felt heart, added a few other props such as cotton balls, mini pom-poms and a piece of twine. I got the mirror letters at a craft store nearby (I already had the T&S and went back to get more for the date) and am planning on reusing them to work into a piece of art to commemorate our wedding date! During the movie, I wanted the date and letters to look like they were dancing, so I moved them around a lot too.

I just set it up on the floor with a little tripod, put my camera on a 2-second timer to get clearer shots, and took about 160 pictures, moving things around a little bit each time. Some shots are a little unfocused, you might notice, but that doesn’t bother me. It somehow adds to the charm! The song is by Brett Dennen and it’s called “Blessed”, which I think really embodies the feeling of having a wedding – “this is the most magnificent life has ever been” and “I’m going to celebrate being alive”. For sure!

Another bonus is that it’s so much more fun than sending out cards (and cheaper too, especially with overseas guests!) and it’s something you can always watch again and again.

We’ll be sending out paper invitations in the next few months, but now everyone can make their travel arrangements and hopefully get a cheaper airfare by booking early. Relatively cheap, at least, considering it’s high season. Sorry about that. But trust me — Hamburg is so much better in the summer!

So, it’s official: August 4th! Only 193 days left!


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 01 2012
Karl

Ausgezeichnet! Deine stop action videos gefallen mir sehr!

24 01 2012
MommaG

Hey – don’t forget to warn those who are coming about the summer Olympics – they may want to watch out which airports they travel through. Love you!

Leave a Reply

