Christmas wishes

6 12 2011

My mother found this list somewhere among boxes of old things. It’s a letter that we had (apparently) written to Grandma. My mom scanned it and sent it to me and I think it’s one of the cutest things ever.

I certainly don’t remember when I wrote this, but I can imagine little Sarah and Jon plotting together to come up with a way to get a hermit crab, and we must have thought Grandma would be the best one to ask about that. I imagine us eagerly writing this letter and giving it to Grandma on our next trip to her house. I think the “If you could, would you?” part is so hilarious! Kids think such bizarre things sometimes. We did eventually get hermit crabs, but I don’t remember if it was in relation to this letter or not. They were huge ones and I do remember having quite a bit of fun with those things. The sweet thing is, however, that Grandma kept this note. That warms my heart and makes me miss her a lot.

So this year, do you have any special Christmas wishes? Do you give your family wish lists for them to work off of, or do you prefer gifts to be a surprise? I generally prefer surprises myself, although I have given my mom quite a few ideas for gifts this year. When I was a kid, I never looked for Christmas presents or opened any gifts early. Did you ever peek?

This year, my biggest wish is to be with those I love on Christmas. I just want to have a nice time together with Tobias on the 20th, and my family on the 25th. Secondary wishes, however, are for orange and cinnamon rolls for breakfast on Christmas morning (with bacon, please!), as well as some nice little surprises under the tree!

One more thing…Happy Birthday to Peter!

And today I must also take a moment to wish Peter a happy 26th birthday! Hope your day is awesome, my friend! Miss you and can’t wait to see you again soon (and enjoy your birthday present together)! Until then, here’s a nice reminder of our fun together in Hamburg!


Actions

Information

3 responses

6 12 2011
lizluvslizards07

Grandma kept lots of those things. Like “La Cucha Beaver” haha. We’re STILL finding little hand-written notes and things from back in the day.

6 12 2011
sarahgilmour

That’s so wonderful that you still find those things! Make sure you show them to me, even if they’re nothing really special. I like seeing things in her handwriting or stuff from when we were younger. 🙂

6 12 2011
Liz Williams

I definitely will do that from now on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

