Twenty-five

6 10 2011

Happy birthday to me!

Today has been wonderful.  I am so incredibly lucky to have such wonderful people in my life!

I had to get up early for work, but Tobi surprised me with Dunkin Donuts that he brought back from Berlin!  (I LOVE Dunkin Donuts and didn’t stop talking about it in Berlin when we saw like 5 different stores, but we never actually went in.  Tobi took some back on the train with him when he left!)

And Peter sent over a lovely package with beautifully-wrapped presents in it – it was a canvas bag from the Bloom grocery store, a big Mad Libs book and a fun calendar of obscure English words!

I had lunch with Tobias and Ariane at a very nice little place where we had lamb kebabs, hummus and rabbit.  Ariane also brought a sweet little tarte that was really delicious!

Afterward I still had some time to kill before my class, so Tobi treated me to some fresh-squeezed juice from a nearby deli.

Some of my favorite students remembered my birthday and sang to me, and they also gave me this nice basket of candy and a card that they all signed.  How sweet of them!

When I got home from work, Tobias surprised me with his present to me – A NEW BICYCLE!  He turned off the lights in the living room and put sparklers on the bike and then told me to come inside. Talk about presentation! What a fun surprise!  It’s a beautiful bike and very shiny and girly…I can’t wait to ride it!  (THANKS honey!!)  I haven’t taken any pictures yet but I definitely want to show it off once it’s daylight!

To finish off the day, Ariane came over with Matthias and we made these special ravioli things for dinner.  They gave me a beautiful cookbook for baking cakes and cookies (with a little wooden spoon and a heart-shaped cookie cutter to go with it!) and a very comfortable St. Pauli long-sleeved t-shirt.  (St. Pauli is a soccer team here in HH.)  It was nice having them over and the food ended up tasting really delicious!

Three hundred

And guess what else?  This is my 300th post here!

So happy 25th to me and 300th to my blog.  And a big thank you to all of you who sent me messages, presents or warm thoughts today.  Thanks for making my birthday so special!


Actions

Information

2 responses

7 10 2011
jess rose

Yay!!! Glad you had such a nice day. Tobias is so sweet it’s giving me a toothache😉 I would have loved to see the bike when all the sparklers were lit. Too cool!

7 10 2011
Mandi

Wow, sounds like a fantastic day! You are lucky to have so many wonderful people in your life. Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

