New obsession: Pinterest

23 08 2011

So, I have jumped on the bandwagon and am totally obsessed with Pinterest, which I finally checked out a few weeks ago when I was sick in bed and had lots of time on my hands.  I had heard of it before from various places and friends, but I finally was curious enough to check it out when one of my favorite bloggers, Elise Blaha Cripe, talked about her new love of Pinterest here.

The way she described it finally urged me to check it out.  I was a little skeptical when you had to sign up via facebook, but let me assure you that it never posts information there without your permission.  And the fact that it’s linked to your facebook account is actually nice because then you have the choice to automatically share it on facebook each time you make a new pin, just by clicking a little box.

I didn’t have an invite, so I “applied” for one.  Let me know if you want an invite, but as I went the other way, it really didn’t take long (maybe an hour? half an hour?) for my application to be accepted.

It’s super-easy to use and I am so totally addicted.  Several of my favorite bloggers are using this as well, and I think it’s such a fun way to keep track of all of the things you want to remember online – like a visual inspiration board, but in digital form!

The best part is, the pins are linked back to the original source, so it is easy to find instructions for DIY items or recipes for delicious-looking foods.  This is SO much better than bookmarking, or saving pictures to your desktop which you then can’t use on your blog because you don’t remember who to credit!

A few of my other favorite boards/bloggers: Benita Larsson of Chez Larsson.comSherry ofyounghouselove.com, and Joanna Goddard of A Cup of Jo.  (And of course Elise, who I mentioned before!)

Sharing pins via your wordpress.com blog

However, the only difficulty is that I couldn’t figure out how to easily integrate my pins onto my blog!  Perhaps it’s common knowledge and I’m just a little bit slow, but a quick Google search didn’t provide me with the answers I was looking for.  So I took matters into my own hands and played around with a couple of things and eventually figured it out on my own.

It’s actually quite simple once you know the magic word, and that is: embedding.  When you want to post the picture from Pinterest, go to the pin and click the “Embed” button, as demonstrated below:

Yes, it is August, and yes, I am already pinning Christmas things.  Don’t hate!  :)

From there, it gives you the code, and you paste it into your post using the HTML post editing setting. (You can always switch back to the “visual” tab if you use this to write your posts, as I do!)  And of course you can change the width/height of  the image to best fit your layout.

And voilà!  You’ve got the picture and an automatic url that links back to the pin when it is clicked.  Isn’t that just fabulous?

*Troubleshooting*  Sometimes the text after the picture get squished together and then shows up like you’re typing several lines of text on one line!  That’ll never do!  If that happens, as it just did for me, select the entire paragraph below the picture and change it back to the “Paragraph” setting instead of the automatic “Format” setting that comes up automatically after posting the picture.

 

Go forth and pin, and then blog about it!

So, that is the extent of my knowledge on the subject.  I hope this information was of help to some of you wordpress.com users!  However, if any questions do come up, I’ll be happy to try to answer them, although I am by all means no expert!

And in case you want to find me on Pinterest, here is a nice shiny new button you can click below! Happy Pinning!

Follow Me on Pinterest


Actions

Information

9 responses

23 08 2011
adiespeaks

that sounds interesting.

it just goes to show how removed i am from the internet world, because i have never even HEARD of “pinterest.”

however… it has peaked my interest. … i’m… “pinterested.”

ok. lame.

i have a facebook, but it’s de-activated currently. do you think i can still be on pinterest? would you mind trying to invite me?

thanks!

23 08 2011
sarahgilmour

Haha, I loved your pun! It was SO up my alley. And not lame in my book. 😉

I just invited you – hopefully it works without facebook, too!

23 08 2011
adiespeaks

i’m in. thanks!

now i’m gonna be consumed with all these things… to look at.

i was already sucked right in to your wedding stuff pin. i LOVE some of those ideas… very easy and real.

thanks for the invite! and thanks for keeping such a fun blog. i still haven’t learned how to put photos in my blog like you do.

is that also… “embedding?”

23 08 2011
sarahgilmour

No wedding planned yet, but a girl can dream, can’t she?! 🙂 It’s just so much fun to look at. I’m a very visual person, and the way they set this up just makes things look so beautiful!

I guess embedding just means putting something directly into something else. To implant, so to speak. And adding photos is basically the same thing! There’s a little button up at the top when you are writing a new post where it says upload/insert and then a bunch of buttons. The first one is for photos, the second for videos. (And I never use the other ones, really.) I keep all my images on an external photo hosting site called photobucket.com and then just copy/paste the URL from the photo there into a blog post.

I miss you, girl! Thanks for keeping up with me on here. It’s sweet that you read my blog! I also really enjoyed your latest blog post. Language differences are so interesting, aren’t they?

23 08 2011
adiespeaks

clearly i have a lot to learn about how to work pinterest.

i’m having sensory overload, for one.

but secondly… i’m still trying to figure out the difference between a page and a pin… and how i create both… and. wow! it’s a lot!

yeah, no wedding planned for me yet, either. i’ve never been into the industry-of-weddings type stuff…. but i do like to look at DIY type stuff or just really crafty, re-purposing type ideas… weddings should be personal, right?

i keep meaning to post a new blog, but then i get distracted by other things… like pinterest!

miss you too. your blog does exactly what i imagine you intended…. it keeps me feeling like i have some idea about your life over there.🙂 love that you and tobias cook together!

24 08 2011
Kathy Honeybourne

Would love an invite !!
kathy@honeybournestudio.com

24 08 2011
Ru

Hello, if you don’t mind, I’d love to have an invite to join Pinterest! Thank you! xx

26 08 2011
manorachick

Hi. This looks like an amazing site. I would love an invite if you still have some available.

26 08 2011
sarahgilmour

Sure! No problemo! You’re invited!

Leave a Reply

