Poor flowers!

28 07 2011

I bought this pretty “Arizona Sun” flower just two days ago.  Apparently it needs lots of sunlight, and unfortunately, my balcony does not offer that.

Here’s a before/after.  Poor thing!  I’ve moved it to the windowsill, where hopefully it will perk up again, but I have a feeling it won’t survive long.

Chalk another one up to my black thumb!

Renovations

Speaking of the windowsill…the workers have finally started renovating the façade of our building.  The scaffolding has been up for a while now, but I heard scraping noises and have seen men walking back and forth past my window.

It’s a little strange being here alone for that at the moment (Tobi comes back Saturday evening) but the thing is, I don’t have any curtains for our bedroom.

We really want to get roman shades instead of traditional curtains, but the problem is that our windows are too big!  So I’m going to have to find a way to make some on my own.

So until that happens, I’ll be duct taping up some bedsheets over our windows for a little privacy at least in the bedroom.  I don’t want people watching me sleep!  That’d be creepy!


Actions

Information

4 responses

28 07 2011
Mandi

Until we can buy some real curtains and drill holes for a curtain rod, we’ve substituted bedsheets for our bedroom windows. We tilted the windows open, hung a bit of the sheet over it, and then closed them again so that the corners of the sheets are secured — works better than duct tape actually. It’s not pretty, but it works for now. 🙂

28 07 2011
Peter

I think your problem is that you bought a SUNflower. You live in Hamburg. You should try getting MOSTLYCLOUDYANDCHILLYWITHTHEOCCASIONALSUNNYDAYflowers.

I think you’d have a better chance : )

30 07 2011
Erika

No sew roman shades. I haven’t tried it yet but I want to!!

http://365days2simplicity.blogspot.com/2011/04/easy-no-sew-roman-shades.html

Your poor plant. How are the succulents??

30 07 2011
sarahgilmour

Wow! That looks great. I might have to end up doing that, since I don’t have a sewing machine… I saw the concept somewhere else, but this tutorial is even better with a picture for each step. That kind of thing really helps me, because I’m kind of bad at following instructions! 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Erika!

The succulents are doing just fine. In fact, my mini jade plant is growing some more leaves! I’m excited about it. I just noticed today they look like they could use a little more dirt…so some “gardening” is on today’s to-do list.

Leave a Reply

