Doctors and nose holes

13 05 2011

My finger is better, by the way.  I had an appointment this morning at the doctor’s office to get it checked out.  Ironically, it kind of healed itself last night, and looks quite good this morning.  But I had to go anyway, since I had an appointment.

So I got to the office and, as usual for any doctor’s office anywhere, waited 30 minutes after my appointment’s scheduled time until I was actually seen by the doctor.  I didn’t feel like leafing through the magazines available on the coffee tables there, and mostly just stared at the fish in the fish tank while I thought over and over about what I would say to the doctor and how I would say it, exactly, in German.  I was too nervous to think about anything else.

But I noticed something about German waiting rooms, which I had forgotten about since my last visit.  Each person says “hallo” to all of the others when they come in, which totally surprised me.  As friendly and outgoing as most Americans tend to be, I am pretty sure that we don’t say hello to the others in the waiting room.  I’m not sure why that is.  Americans tend to talk more openly to strangers about very personal things (like my mom, for example – hi mom!), but apparently the waiting room is the exception to that rule.  Not that the Germans go any further than “hallo“, of course.  No personal information or conversation beyond that.  But they do say, “tschüss” (bye) when they leave.

Another big difference was that there was a coffee machine in the waiting room.  How cool is THAT?  They also offer you a cup of coffee while you’re at the hairdresser’s.  I’ve never taken them up on that, but perhaps I should.  You know.  Get the real European experience.

Anyway, back to the appointment.  When my name was called and after I followed the doc back to her office, I explained to her why I originally came (and did a fantastic job using the vocabulary I’d learned after my Apotheke experience last week, I might add).  She took a look at it and agreed it looked perfectly fine now.  So then I used the opportunity to ask her about my allergies, and what I could do for that.  She recommended that I make an appointment with the another doctor in the same office who does allergy tests, and she prescribed me a nose spray for the congestion.  Also, I learned some more new medical vocabulary.  Apparently the German word for nostril is “das Nasenloch” – nose hole.  I love it when language is straightforward like that!

Now I’ve got some medicine, as well as some zinc pills that the pharmacist convinced me to try.  Let’s hope it helps!  Then maybe my students will stop learning wrong vocabulary from me because of my stuffy nose – things like “good afternood” and “broob” (broom).


Actions

Information

5 responses

13 05 2011
pecas

Too funny, I don’t know if you noticed that the same thing happens here in france? I remember the first time it happened I was in a bit of shock and then responded. Now, that I think of it I think i’ve gotten used to it as well..
Merry day! hope you’re all better soon!

13 05 2011
sarahgilmour

I don’t remember that! That’s even crazier, because the French people basically think strangers are invisible on the street, and they wouldn’t dare make eye contact with anyone else on the metro. LOL!

13 05 2011
Daniela Ochoa Diaz

That comment by pecas… is me daniela🙂

13 05 2011
Daniela Ochoa Diaz

In a doctors office its slightly different i’ve noticed. Crazy huh..

13 05 2011
sarahgilmour

Daniela – I knew it was you from your email address. 🙂 Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

