St. Peter-Ording

11 04 2011

Remember when I talked about how springtime makes me want new, pretty things?  I got these awesome brightly-colored towels (on sale!) to satisfy that urge.

North Sea in springtime

This weekend we went to the beach up at St. Peter-Ording.  We expected it to be chilly, but we didn’t quite expect it to be so incredibly COLD!  It was extremely windy, and even though I bundled up as much as I could, I was still pretty cold most of the time.

However, Tobias and I had a nice time.  We took a long walk on the beach, which was the widest beach I’ve ever seen in my life, and watched the many kite surfers in the ocean.  We stopped at a restaurant to have a beer and some french fries, and then we took a nap in one of these roofed wicker beach chairs that are so popular in Europe.

There were also tons of these sand buggies there, which looked like a lot of fun!

Even though it wasn’t good beach weather, it was still a nice day.  The sun was shining and it was good to get outside of Hamburg for some fresh, salty ocean air.  Especially because I had spent the entire day before that pretty much incapacitated by a bad allergy attack.  That was definitely no fun.

And St. Peter-Ording was only about 3 hours away by train.  Want to know a strange fact about me?  Any time something is 3 hours away, I automatically compare it to driving to Ocean City.  That’s the beach my family has vacationed at every year since I was 2 years old.  So if something is 3 hours away, I say, “That’s just like going to Ocean City!”

Does anybody else do that too, or am I just weird?


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

