Bringing in some color

4 04 2011

Saturday was simply AMAZING weather.  It was warm (70°F / 22°C) and sunny and it was the first time in months that I’ve been able to go out without a coat.

In the morning, we went to the home improvement store Max Bahr to get another planter box for our balcony and some things to attach the boxes securely so our flowers don’t come crashing down.

On the way back, we walked through an outdoor market and we picked up some flowers and some herbs for our new planters.

 

And I finally got my daffodils!

Oh, and some dirt.  Which was dirt cheap.  (I didn’t expect it to be so inexpensive…which I guess is where that phrase came from!)  (I couldn’t resist making a pun on that one…)

As you can see in the above picture, we got 6 different types of herbs:  oregano, lemon thyme, an Italian herb called santolina (the one in the middle on the picture below), [regular] thyme, sage, and rosemary.

Does anyone have any experience growing herbs?  Do you have any good tips or things I should know about keeping them alive and helping them thrive? (Wow a pun and then a rhyme?  I’m on a roll…somebody stop me!)

I love how much better and more inviting our balcony looks!  I’m excited for a little bit warmer and sunnier weather so we can sit out there without wearing too many layers.

We spent the rest of Saturday afternoon at Jenischpark, where we met some friends (and friends of friends) for an afternoon of barbecuing in the park.  It was wonderfully relaxing and lots of fun!

Did anyone else have warm weather this weekend?  What did you do?


Actions

Information

4 responses

4 04 2011
Peter

Went to a beach called Alumñécar and sat on rocks in the sun! Fantastic!

4 04 2011
sarahgilmour

@ Peter: Gorgeous! I’m jealous! 🙂

4 04 2011
Riayn

It must have been the weekend for planting balcony flower boxes as that is exactly what I did as well.🙂

4 04 2011
CN Heidelberg

My experience with herbs is just that most of them looove sun, so if you have a sunny window box, you’re golden! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

