Sunday sweets: banana bread, my way!

23 01 2011

This weekend, the boy is working.  All day yesterday, all day today.  So while he’s out doing his thing, I’ve had a lot of time to myself.  I caught up on my TV shows, played music on the big speakers, cleaned the apartment, went shopping, and had a few Skype dates with friends.  But I did all that yesterday, so today I don’t have anything else to do!  I have decided to force myself to go out and explore today, even though it’s cold and I could just as well stay at the house.  But you can only refresh your facebook newsfeed so many times before it gets extremely boring when no one has updated.  (Does anybody else do that when they’re bored?)

So I’m having a snack and then grabbing my nice camera (my Canon 5D, Tobi’s old camera) and heading out to the Speicherstadt to take some pictures.  It’s really gray today, but I think it will be nice anyway to get out of the house and explore a little.  I would love to go shopping, but it’s Sunday and that means shops are closed.  I’m still not used to that.

But before I run out, I wanted to share this lovely recipe for the banana bread I made yesterday and am snacking on right now – it’s very tasty!  I based it off of this recipe, but I didn’t have walnuts or vanilla extract, so I substituted almond extract and chocolate chunks.  YUM.  It’s even better than I had hoped!

 


Actions

Information

3 responses

23 01 2011
Malorie

Too funny. Tim asked me to make banana bread this weekend.

25 01 2011
adiespeaks

soo…. tell me… did you get the idea to make banana bread from me? 🙂

26 01 2011
sarahgilmour

Well, not originally – we had a whole bunch of very ripe bananas from the Fischmarkt a few weeks ago that I wanted to use up. But the motivation to actually MAKE the banana bread definitely came from you! 🙂 So thanks!

Leave a Reply

