Sunday bounty

3 01 2011

Tobias went to the Fischmarkt again and this time brought back about 40 kilos of fruit and vegetables!  (The backpack was so heavy I couldn’t even lift it!)  That’s like, 90 pounds.  He got asparagus, apricots, clementines, lemons, oranges and grapefruit, all for about 10€.

So I enjoyed a fresh grapefruit and then got to work making Martha’s Pink Grapefruit Lemonade.  I haven’t made that since last summer.  But citrus is especially important in the winter, I think.  And the summer taste helps make the cold weather outside less depressing; you can sip and forget for a minute that there’s snow on the ground!

All that citrus!!  I may have to try Jana’s Chopped Citrus and Cranberry Nut Salad recipe. Fresh cranberries are expensive here, though.  I wonder if dried cranberries would also work out okay if I soaked them in water first or something…

Speaking of recipes, OMG!  I NEED to try these chocolate banana crêpes!  And on a more salty note, this guacamummus (go ahead, click the link!  You know you want to see what it is)!

Back to the daily grind

It was a nice way to spend a Sunday, particularly my last Sunday before work starts back up again.  I’m so glad for the break – I really needed that!  I am not making any New Year’s Resolutions this year.

Last year I didn’t do so bad on resolutions, though!  I only had one: write a little bit every day in my little Moleskine journal.  And I made it all the way through September (with only a few missing days).  Not bad, eh?  And I feel okay with that – no guilt.  September is when things started getting super crazy with work, so it’s understandable that I kind of lost that habit.

So, though I’m not making any resolutions, there is one thing I definitely need to do: try not to overload myself so much with work.  Sure, there will always be busy moments, but I need to find some more balance in my schedule and not work such long days.  8 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. never again!

My freelance days are over, luckily, and I should be able to have a better schedule now that I’m fully employed and working for just one language school.  I’m so very happy about that this year.


Actions

Information

2 responses

5 01 2011
Jana

All that citrus looks great Sarah! For the salad, the recipe I based it off of used dried cranberries. I just substituted fresh cause that’s what I had. The link to the epicurious recipe is on my blog. Have fun! And enjoy the snow on the ground for me; not all of us get that!

5 01 2011
sarahgilmour

Oh Jana, that’s great to hear! Thanks for your comment! 🙂 Will do – but the snow is melting here, it’s been so “warm”! (It’s still very cold but not as bad as next week and for some reason that feels warm, almost like spring. It’s funny how it’s all in the mind!)

Leave a Reply

