Jahresrückblick 2010

31 12 2010

A year in review:  I looked back over my blog entries and my photos from 2010 and wanted to share a few memories from each month.  I’ve linked back to a lot of the stories I blogged about already, in case you are interested in looking back with me & reminiscing.  This is the first time I’ve done something like this.  It was a lot of fun to look back and see where I’ve been and what I’ve done this year.

January

  • Lived in Paris across the street from Sarkozy.
  • Winter was COLD and I froze my buns off in my uninsulated apartment, even with a radiator and a hot water bottle.
  • Took me lots of arguing & the whole month to get my pass éducation, which let me get into most museums for free.

February

  • I finally got the pass.
  • Snowpocalypse in the States.  I missed it, though.  It snowed in Paris too, but only a little bit.
  • Visited Hamburg.  The Alster was frozen.  We took a day trip to Keitum and Sylt.  Saw Stefan Zweig’s Schachnovelle at the Altonaer Theater.
  • Went snowboarding for the first time in Switzerland.  Hated it for the first 4 days, enjoyed it the last 3 days when I wasn’t falling down so much!
  • Met Tobi’s brother and (now) sister-in-law and his baby niece, Clara

March

  • Participated in a friend’s sister’s college radio program.
  • Jon & Jaimie visited (my brother & his girlfriend) for a few weeks.  Did a lot of sight-seeing!
  • Made 2 stop-motion videos (1, 2) with them
  • Had Ladurée macarons with Peter, went to the Petit Palais

April

  • Tobias visited.  We took a road trip along the coast – from Saint-Malo & Mont Saint-Michel to Bordeaux and St.-Émilion, then back up to Paris.  (blogged here)
  • Volcano in Iceland!  Tobias was in London (& got a London agent!) and had a hard time getting back!
  • Bike trip at the Loire with my friends
  • MIKA concert.  BEST CONCERT EVER.

May

  • Picnics on the Pont des Arts with friends
  • Celebrated Cinco de Mayo with friends at Sara & Libby’s apartment
  • Said goodbye to Peter (who went back to the States)
  • Tobi’s brother’s wedding in Bielefeld
  • Went out for falafel with the girls
  • Had a crazy night at Sacré Coeur (some guy stole Paula’s iPhone, I caught him)
  • Rushed around to get taxes in last-minute!!

June

July

  • Got my hair cut – and bangs for the first time in about 10 years!  (I always had bangs as a child.)
  • Flew to the States with Tobi for a visit
  • Celebrated 4th of July
  • Visited friends & hung out with family
  • Spent a weekend in Baltimore, saw Laura
  • Spent a weekend in NYC, saw Stephanie
  • Took a road trip with Tobias (blogged here)
  • Watched Tour de France
  • Had a going away party
  • Annual Ocean City trip with family (see above photo – some of my family!)

August 2010

September

  • Officially started work as a freelance English teacher with 3 different schools
  • Bought a Jaguar (bicycle, lol)
  • Saw a double rainbow and a very impressive sunset
  • Went out on a girls’ night with some Germans

October

  • Turned 24
  • Went on a road trip with Tobias to the Mecklenburger Seeplatten
  • Worked like a madwoman!  (Seriously crazy hours!)
  • Tobi’s vernissage at the church – his artwork hung for the month of November

November

  • Saw an apartment.  Got offered the apartment.  Waffled about if we’d get the apartment or not.  Decided to take it.  And that’s where we live now!  So glad!
  • Took my honey out on a date to a ballet and then sushi
  • First real snow in Hamburg
  • Moved into our new apartment

December

  • Bought & decorated our first Christmas tree (a live one!)
  • Went to IKEA 3 times in 4 weeks.  Oy.
  • Built our kitchen, bought big appliances (fridge, washing machine, dishwasher)
  • Watched How the Grinch Stole Christmas about 100 times (I made an English lesson from it)
  • Went to the Fishmarkt once (Tobi went two more times alone)
  • It snowed A LOT
  • Celebrated Tobi’s 38th birthday (sorry honey, just outed your age!)
  • Did a lot of baking
  • Couldn’t find any peppermint extract anywhere, and the candy canes I got were cherry-flavored.  Boo.
  • Spent Christmas in Bielefeld with Tobi’s family.  Got to Skype with my family on Christmas day.
  • Relaxed a lot the week between Christmas & New Year’s

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

