What’s that letter?

26 10 2010

Last week, in one of my favorite classes on Wednesday, we had a nice group of 4 people there. It was such a better dynamic than the last few weeks, when it was only 1 or 2 people. Not that that’s bad to only have 1 or 2 people, but there are so many more things you can do in a larger group!

It’s a lower-level class (A1-A2) and so I just do very basic things with them. They need a lot of practice with the basics.

Spelling words out loud in English, for example.

Two of the ladies asked me, “How do you say ‘V’?” In German it sounds something like “faow”, which is very different than our “vee”. And their W is “vay” which often gets confused with the English V.

Side note: So VW is faow-vay, but we say vee-double-yoo in English.  That’s quite a difference!

I told them, “Vee.” And they repeated it: “Wee.”

Me: “Vee.”

Them: “Wee.”

Me: “No, VEE”.

Them: “WEE.”

And with that, I decided to save my energy for other battles. Although if I had written “we” on the board and asked them to pronounce it, I can guarantee you that they would have said, in typical German fashion, “Vee.”

Did I mention I love teaching English?

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

26 10 2010
Susan Gilmour

Kind of reminds me of you and your host mom discussing beach and the other word that rhymes with it! Gotta love those languages!

26 10 2010
sarahgilmour

Mom – Yeah! It’s the whole “not being able to hear the difference” thing. It’s funny sometimes.

Leave a Reply

