Who wants to be a millionaire?

11 10 2010

Remember that show?  Is it still on?  If so, who is the host?

To answer my own question…apparently it’s Meredith Vieiera.  She looks familiar, but I can’t quite put my finger on it.  Well I knew it couldn’t still be Regis, after all these years.  When did the first season come out, anyway?  (The answer: 1998, in the United Kingdom!  Who knew?)

Anyway, I was delighted to see that Germany also has a version of this.  It’s exactly the same set, music, intimidating heartbeat sound effect and everything!  T. and I watch this pretty often, actually.

In the German version, there are a few different rules than the classic Regis Philbin-style Who Wants to Be a Millionaire game.  At the beginning of the game, you have the choice between getting an extra lifeline or having a safety at 16,000€.  Most people we’ve seen so far take the extra lifeline, which allows you to ask ONE audience member for the answer to the question.

I especially enjoy watching it because of the host, Günther Jauch.  He’s so great.  I love his slightly nerdy, but very cool, way of interacting with the contestants.  His facial expressions are the best, and the way he moves his mouth when he talks is pretty fascinating.

While checking out this topic, I found that there are new rules in the 2010 American version of Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? (check them out here – they’re quite crazy new rules!).  Does anyone watch the new version?


Actions

Information

One response

12 10 2010
Riayn

I was watching a bit of this last night, but since I barely speak any German I couldn’t try to guess the answer before the contestant did (my favourite part of watching any quiz show).

Leave a Reply

