Happy October!

1 10 2010

It’s finally October – one of my favorite months of the year!  (Though how much of that is because my birthday is this month?  Hmm…good question.)

In all honesty, I am excited about my birthday.  I’ll be 24 this year.  Another even number.  Though I’ll be working all day on my birthday, I am excited about a weekend road trip that Tobias has planned!  Another fun adventure!

I’m official.

Speaking of working…I GOT MY WORK PERMIT! I am too excited about that to complain about how difficult it was to get.  Or about the fact that it’s only for 3 months, and I have to go back in December and prove I can make a living doing freelance English teaching.  Or about how rude the lady was at the office.  Or about how four different people at the immigration office told us four completely different things, four different times, making the process last four times as long.

I could complain about all those things, but I won’t.

Okay, fine.  It’s true.  You caught me: I complained about them just by mentioning them.  But you should know that I am way more excited about the positive things (being allowed to work in Germany) than I am frustrated by all of the negative things.

And now that I have my permit, I’m working like hell.  I’ve been so busy with work now that I can’t remember the last time I was this excited to finally have a weekend.

I enjoy what I do, though.  Being a teacher is great.  Lesson planning, however, is not so great.  It’s not the planning itself that stresses me out.  It’s an important thing to do so I don’t have to make up activities or examples on the spot.  But it’s really hard that I come home from teaching and spend hours planning the next lessons, staying up way later than I should.  Other teachers keep telling me it will get easier as time goes on, and I think they’re right.  I’m only just beginning.

I am incredibly lucky to already have three different language schools to work for so soon after arriving in Germany.  Everyone, including myself, thought it would take longer to find work.  And normally it should, especially with the way the job market is now.  But I just happened to get into contact with the right people at the right time – exactly when they needed someone.  And I’m really glad about that.


Actions

Information

4 responses

2 10 2010
Karl

Congrats!

Sarah, I wanted to comment on the Christmas tree blog, but when I clicked on the link it gave me “Sorry, but you are looking for something that is not here”.

How do I get to that link, or did you remove it?
Thanks, Karl

2 10 2010
sarahgilmour

@ Karl – You must have clicked on the link the second it was published. That post is meant to come next week, but I accidentally hit “publish” instead of “save draft”. Your chance to comment on that post will come soon!

4 10 2010
Riayn

I’m currently in the process of applying for my work permit. I have heard that it is an absolute headache and the process rarely goes smoothly.
Annoying that you need to go back in 3 months and re-apply.

4 10 2010
sarahgilmour

@ Riayn – Hello! Thanks for commenting! I looked at your blog and noticed that you just got to Hamburg – welcome! What brings you here to Hamburg? It’s exciting to “meet” another person who’s new to Hamburg, even if it’s only via the blogosphere. I’m going to add you to my Google reader list!

As far as applying for your work permit goes, I recommend this: go there, ask them to tell you exactly what you need – they’ll print out a list of things you need. Make an appointment with the same person you saw that day, and come back to that same person for the appointment later (a few weeks or a month later) with all of the required documents.

Hopefully that will work out better than it did for me! You have heard correctly that it is a headache. I didn’t make an appointment with the same person as I saw last time, so that caused me problems because they wouldn’t accept what their colleague had told me, even though I had the list the colleague signed off on. Oy. Maybe you’ll have a better chance if you go back and say, “Look. You gave me this list. I have everything on it. Now please give me my visa.” Then they can’t blame it on colleagues “not knowing” the right answers and everything! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

