Where has the time gone?

17 09 2010

My goodness!  5 days have passed since I last posted.  Tsk, tsk, tsk.

This past week has been a whirlwind, though.  I’ve been so busy that I have barely felt the time pass.  I had two interviews in the past two weeks, and both went very well.  That means that once I get my visa (11 days left until my appointment!), I will officially be working for three different language schools here in Hamburg.  How exciting!  I really feel very lucky that things seem to be working out so well for me job-wise.  Additionally, there will be another interview/meeting next week with the director of a vocational school that’s in my neighborhood.  Maybe something will work out there, too.  In the meantime, I am studying up on grammar, business English, and other teaching skills.  It’s almost like I’m in school again to learn how to teach!  What a funny feeling…but I’m such a language nerd, and I love it.

4 Simple Goals Progress

The past few weeks have definitely been productive in regard to my goals to speak more German, explore Hamburg, do something active, and learn new recipes.  I’ve been to a few new places, and even a few new places on my own, which is great because every time I do, I feel more at home here in Hamburg.  Still no exercise class or anything, but a friend invited me to go salsa dancing last Sunday.  Unfortunately, I was so wiped out from the night before (staying out with her and some of her friends until almost 2 a.m.), that I decided  to stay in last Sunday evening.  But this event takes place every week, and I will definitely go there and try it out.  And maybe that could become my activity.  It seems like it might be a great opportunity to make friends, too.  Otherwise, I’ve been riding my bike a lot lately, and that’s at least some good physical activity!

It’s been a great week for recipes.  We made fajita wraps for lunch one day.  I made heart-shaped hamburgers.  I guess it’s kind of hard to call hamburgers a “recipe”, because it’s so darn easy…but this was the first time I’ve ever been in charge of the whole process.

My personal chef (a.k.a. boyfriend) made a few masterpieces last week, too.  We had butternut squash soup twice, in two very different ways.  The one pictured below is with oranges.  The other one had apples in it (not pictured) and was a much greener color – I think he put pumpkin seed oil in it.

And then he made this beautiful (and tasty!) apple tart.  He knows how to make dough for pie crust from scratch, with no recipe at all.  (I find that so incredibly amazing!)  Isn’t it gorgeous?


Actions

Information

2 responses

18 09 2010
Shannon

Where does the salsa dancing event take place? The reason I ask is that if it happens in/around Ottensen (or even if it doesn’t), you would maybe meet one of the teachers I used to work with. Oh, and Tobi’s apple tart looks amazingly delicious.🙂

18 09 2010
sarahgilmour

I’m not sure exactly, but it’s not in Ottensen. I think it’s not too far from Sternschanze. Here is the link: http://www.feuerstein-stpauli.de/

And yes, the tarte was SO delicious that we ate the whole thing in one sitting!

Leave a Reply

