Weekend review

13 09 2010

This weekend was marvelous.  I did everything on my “to-do” list, with the exception of finding a good planner.  I’m still working on that one.  But I did all my errands, explored my neighborhood a little, and bought myself a pot of red chrysanthemums.

I also treated myself to some nice pastries, coffee, cinnamon toast and lots of reading.  I just finished my book, The White Tiger, today on the metro – it was really good.  And it was great to finish reading it in about 3-4 days’ time…I feel so accomplished!  It has been a long time since I’ve read a book in such a short amount of time.  When I picked out this book at the library, I had just finished reading Gut Gegen Nordwind, a German novel (obviously), and I decided to treat myself to an English book.  But I promised myself (and my boyfriend) that I would read a German book next.

On the way out of the house this morning, I found that someone had put out a book in their trash, and I saved it from its sad fate & put it in my bag.  It’s a Krimiroman – a crime thriller.  That’s not really my favorite genre, but I figured, why not – it was free!  And if I don’t like it, I can leave it somewhere where another person might pick it up.

Does anyone have any recommendations for the next English book I should borrow from the library?  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!🙂

Girls’ night

Saturday night, I also had the opportunity to go out with a friend of Tobi’s and a few of her friends.  There were four of us, all girls, and we had dinner at a sushi restaurant in the very trendy “Schanze” (short for Sternschanze, the real name of the neighborhood).

After our sushi, we went for a few drinks in the bar next door.  The bar is called Katze and it was pretty cool.  They sell their drink glasses, which have different designs of a golden cat on them.  I was excited because we already have one at home, and now I know where it comes from!

Dinner was great because I had no problems understanding and following the conversation.  It was a lot more difficult in the loud, crowded bar.  I’m glad we started off the evening in a quieter place, because by the time we got to the bar, I already felt comfortable and included in the conversation.

It was so fun to go out, though, and hang out with some new people.  I really enjoyed myself!


Actions

Information

2 responses

14 09 2010
Peter

Book recommendation: Ender’s Game, or start the Harry Potter series. Or Pillars of the Earth, though it’s real big, so it won’t be a quick read. I went to the doctor today, I’ll fill you in later.

14 09 2010
Karl

Book recommendations:

The Present, by Spencer Johnson: Excellent! It’s short, well-written, and I think it’s timely for you (not religious, just makes sense; what to do next, etc)

Also by same author, Who Moved My Cheese?

Leave a Reply

