Finally, we have internet again!

6 09 2010

It is strange to feel this desperate after only a few (5 and 1/2) days of no internet connection. Though I have had email access through my boyfriend’s iPhone, it’s not the same. (Especially because typing on a touchscreen keyboard is not the easiest thing to do! Does that make me sound old?)

When you have no internet, you’re kind of forced to do other things that you might have put off doing because normally you’d spend that time surfing the web or refreshing the facebook news page a hundred times. At least I’ve been a little productive. I organized my binder full of paperwork. I cleaned up my external hard drive and backed up some things. (Unfortunately, I have to buy a new hard drive because not everything would fit onto the old one. I put that on my to-do list.) I went to the grocery store.

But then, on the third day, desperation set in. I literally had nothing to do. I read some magazines. I watched a movie. I went to the grocery store (again). I actually put off going to the library to purchase a library card just so I would still have something to do.

People lived without the internet before and had quite happy, productive and fulfilling lives. Why can’t I find something to do that doesn’t involve the internet? I waste so much time on facebook, reading random blogs on Google Reader, and watching tv shows online. It’s easy to get bored with that, too, especially when you’ve refreshed the page several times already and nothing has changed because most people you know are in a time zone 6 hours behind you.

For me, the hardest thing for me about not having the internet is that I feel pretty isolated from what I consider to be my life. Blogging here, for example, is an important part of my life. But the thing I miss the most is not feeling that connection to my friends and family that I am able to experience thanks to the internet. Of course I am making a life for myself (and with Tobias) in Germany, but that is a slow process. I am starting to feel at home here, though, and that is a wonderful thing.

It is so good to be back “home”.  I will post extra this week just to make up for it!  But I must also say that it feels good to have finally finished reading my book, which I definitely would not have done this week if we had had an internet connection.  Life is funny that way.


Actions

Information

2 responses

7 09 2010
Karl

Sounds a lot like my first weeks in Austria, (though I had no girlfriend). and I’d just come from MD where I was working 3 jobs, part time university classes, friends,… I remember my body and mind took a month or two to slow down, unwind, adjust to the different pace of life, culture, language, etc.

Probably the biggest help for me was getting involved in the local church, which was Lutheran. Does Tobias have a church you attend? or is there one you could go to? The people I met at that church were wonderful, and I’m still in touch with several after all these years. (When in France I attended a local Catholic church, & made friends there. They had a weekday “student mass” – like a college/career group – that I went to, with a small meal afterwards.)

Sounds like you’re doing well overall!
Karl

7 09 2010
Shannon

I know how you feel about having no internet. It’s so frustrating. Deutsche Telekom cut our internet and phone connection the day I got back (they thought my roommate had moved somehow after I moved in) from my orientation in Koeln and my roommate was all like “yeah, this happened, no big deal,” and I was like “um, I barely know you or anyone else, and I have absolutely no way of easily contacting my boyfriend or my family or any of my friends to let them know, hey I got back ok and I love and miss you.” Thankfully I could use the internet at school, but only from 9 – 5 PM M – F, but you’d understand completely with the time difference how aggravating it can be to only have internet until around 11 AM back home. The worst part was my roommate continued not to see it as a very big deal and was kind of lax about contacting them to get it ll fixed. Ugh, I still get frustrated about it and it’s already two years later (almost exactly two years, actually)!

As for Hamburg libraries, I loved the Zentralbibliothek across from the Hauptbahnhof (they have a lovely large selection of English books, which is great to visit when you get homesick or have had your fill of German and want a book that’ll take you only a couple of days vs. a couple of months to read). Oh, and they also usually have a lot of materials for learning German as a foreign language (great for people like us) and learning English as well (i.e. stuff you can use for your classes).

Just to also pass something along: I got Heimweh and looked up the library and saw that apparently they’ve started a series of Dialog in Deutsch to help those with Migrationshintergrund learn German, looks cool (and kostenlos!) : http://www.buecherhallen.de/go/id/itw/

Leave a Reply

