Trader Joe’s

16 08 2010

Those of you who live in the States all know Trader Joe’s (or at least have probably heard of it).

There is a store here in Germany called Aldi.

SIDENOTE: Actually, it’s a worldwide store, and I’ve even seen a few in the States on various road trips.  Upon further research, I found out that there are Aldi locations right by my hometown!  I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of it before until I came to Europe.  If you’re interested in learning more about the Aldi philosophy, click here.  It’s pretty interesting.

Aldi is basically a supermarket that has no name-brand stuff that you’d see in other stores, so it’s much cheaper.  And they have weekly specials on other household items, clothing and electronics.

One thing I saw on a recent shopping trip that was “name brand” made me curious to find out more.  Trader Joe’s.  There it was on a package of sunflower seeds.  And on some tuna cans.  And on plenty of other products!  Strange, right?  To me, Trader Joe’s is a specialty retail store that has a lot of organic things and is kind of on the pricey side.  So it was interesting to see the Trader Joe’s brand all over the place here, and the logo sure looks similar enough to the real Trader Joe’s that I thought there must be something bigger behind this, or they’re gonna get a serious lawsuit sometime soon.

After some “research” (I say “research” because all I did was look it up on Wikipedia), I found the answer.  As it turns out, Aldi and Trader Joe’s are owned by the same German company, says Wiki:

Trader Joe’s was founded by Joe Coulombe and is currently owned by a family trust set up by the late German businessman Theo Albrecht, one of the two brothers behind the German supermarket chain Aldi.

Theo Albrecht bought Trader Joe’s in 1977.  There’s an interesting article over at Deutsche Welle (in English) here entitled “The American Way of Aldi” about Trader Joe’s and Aldi and their connection.

Who knew?

Dear readers in the States: have any of you ever seen an Aldi near you?  Where do you live?


Actions

Information

12 responses

16 08 2010
Karl

An Aldi just opened this month near us, in Brandywine/Waldorf. Thanks for the info – didn’t know it was related to Trader Joe’s.

16 08 2010
sarahgilmour

Yeah, crazy! I had no idea they existed, but they are in several towns in our area. 🙂

18 08 2010
jess rose

Hey Sarah! There’s one in Glen Burnie. An I’ve seen them in a few different places throughout MD!

18 08 2010
jess rose

AND there’s actually one in Frederick! On Patrick Street. I knew there was one close by! haha

18 08 2010
sarahgilmour

@ Jessi – Wow! How come we never knew about it? I guess you don’t really go there?

18 08 2010
Lizz

There’s an Aldi in Glen Burnie off of Rt. 2, mom goes there all the time since she found it.

18 08 2010
sarahgilmour

@ Liz – That’s so funny to me. I didn’t know your mom goes there. You’ll have to let me know what brands she brings home…I want to see if they have the same stuff here!

18 08 2010
Lizz

Yeah, I definitely will the next time she comes back from there!

18 08 2010
jess rose

I think it was put in recently. I’ve never been in one because I never knew much about them. I’ll have to check it out!

19 08 2010
Paula

That’s weird! We have Aldi’s in Minnesota, but they are kind of sketchy. My sister has one right across from her place in Leipzig – I should have checked it out when I was there! Next time🙂

7 01 2011
adrienne

hey sarah!🙂

yep. one just opened up in germantown right near my neighborhood. i confess, i have not been shopping there yet, but your post makes me want to go and check it out!

i believe there is also one in frederick. i had no idea that trader joe’s and aldi were linked!
🙂

7 01 2011
sarahgilmour

@ Adrienne – Hey, great! Thanks for checking out my blog and saying hello! Let me know what you think about Aldi when you go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

