Good times in Ocean City

31 07 2010

We just got back home today from vacation.  As is always the case with vacations, the week went by too quickly!  I would have loved to spend one more week there with everyone.  But we did a lot during our one week, and we enjoyed it to the fullest.  It was  really nice to hang out with my family, and even nicer because Tobias got to join us there this year.

My family has been going to Ocean City, Maryland, ever since I was 2 years old.  It’s a familiar place for me, but still just as exciting every year.  I love the beach.  We spent a lot of time out there this week.  And guess what?  I didn’t get sunburned at all this year!  If you know how fair-skinned I am, you know that’s quite an accomplishment.

Here’s a day-to-day summary with a few photos, if you’re interested.  Don’t be too jealous!

Day 1: Saturday

My family always leaves very early to avoid traffic, but then we have to kill time until 3:00 p.m., when we can check in to our beach apartment rental.  We got there early and went to the movie theaters and watched The Sorcerer’s Apprentice.  It was pretty cheesy, but still enjoyable.

After we were all unpacked, we headed out to the beach.  It was a perfect day, weather-wise.  We ordered Chinese food for dinner.

unloading the cars

Day 2: Sunday

Tobi and I on the beach

We spent most of the day out on the beach.  The rest of the evening was spent eating dinner and watching Big Bang Theory (which is hilarious, by the way!).  We watched that most other days this week, too.

Day 3: Monday

Tobias woke me up with the smell of coffee and breakfast he made for me. We ate most of our breakfasts out on the balcony and watched the waves. It was lovely!

Another gorgeous day on the beach.  In the evening, we played Quelf, which is a very crazy and funny board game that made us do very wacky things.

Day 4: Tuesday

We got up early that morning to go biking on the boardwalk.  We got to ride these really cool “banana” recumbent bikes and a four-person surrey.

My brother, Jon, riding the recumbent bike.

My mom & cousin Liz pushing the surrey back down the ramp to return it to the rental place.

Tobias riding the recumbent

Then we had pizza for lunch and spent a little bit of time on the boardwalk.  We also got to go to the Ripley’s Believe it or Not! museum.  That was very interesting and a lot of fun.

Dad, Jon & his girlfriend Jaimie, Liz, and Tobias on the boardwalk

Egger, the traveling gnome, creeped into a few pictures...

Day 5: Wednesday

We spent the morning on the beach, but then came in early in the afternoon to go mini golfing.  Old Pro Golf had a new indoor course we wanted to try.  It was jungle-themed!

My stylish boyfriend

Jon, Liz & Jaimie

My cousin, James, imitating the statue on the 6th hole.

It was a fierce competition!

Jaimie touched the rhino's butt!

Dad and uncle Stacy watch Mom take her shot

Liz, Jaimie, the elephant and I

Arthur, the French exchange student staying with us, and my cousin James

My brother and I noticed that this gorilla was the same exact one that had been at the outdoor golf course right next to the new indoor one. I took a picture like this years ago with the same gorilla. Unfortunately, I can't find the old one anywhere!

Day 6: Thursday

It was rainy on and off all day on Thursday, so we skipped the beach and drove to Delaware to do some sales tax-free shopping at the outlet malls.

After some very successful shopping, we came back for dinner and ate out at Bahama Mama’s, a very colorful crab house.

Waiting outside to be seated, and checking the menus

This was Jon's idea

Also Jon's idea

Liz drew caricatures of the whole family on the paper tablecloth. I'm the one on top in the bikini. That's Tobias next to me, in a hat and with a camera around his neck.

Day 7: Friday

Our last day in Ocean City.  We spent most of it on the beach, but the waves were REALLY rough and there was a drop-off from the beach to the shore.  It was very rough.  We did spend a little time in the water, though.

We tried to take a jumping picture. We should have tried more than once!

Tobi and I on the beach on the last day. We wore rash guards to protect our skin from the rough waves!

Day 8: Saturday.

Going home.

This is one of the last pictures I took of our rental place.

It was an awesome week.  Like I said, I wish it could have been longer!


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 08 2010
Lizz Williams

I found the other picture you had with that monkey! I posted it on Facebook, I’m also going to e-mail it to you… Sorry it’s so small, but I didn’t have an original just a copy from the internet or something. :/

1 08 2010
Julia

I love all of your adventures and these post write ups. Keep it all coming!! And I’m so happy to read about your fun!

Leave a Reply

