Snip, snip!

8 07 2010

My hair had gotten very long this past year.  It’s the longest it’s been since I was a kid.  And, while long hair can definitely be beautiful, it’s 1) hard to manage and hurts to brush through, and 2) it just gets to a certain point where it stops being beautiful and starts looking frumpy.

So, on the first day of this month, before leaving for the States, I got a haircut.  Tobias was a dear and made the appointment for me, requesting someone who is “fit” (or proficient) in English, so I could better explain what type of haircut I wanted without having to know all of the necessary German vocabulary.  (It made the process a lot less scary!)

When I got there, a really friendly, hippyish blonde woman with super-short bangs welcomed me.  I spoke mostly German and was quite proud of myself.  She was patient with me as I tried to describe what I wanted to do, and thankfully she understood the words I wasn’t able to translate into German.

It was a very successful experience!  I ended up with a great haircut for 35€, and I even had fun chatting in German with the hairdresser.  It felt great.  (Not to mention the fact that I love, love, LOVE getting my hair shampooed at the salon…it’s like a massage!)  And, most importantly, I love my new haircut!

Since it was so long, I also wanted to donate my long hair to Pantene Pro-V Beautiful Lengths to go toward making wigs for cancer patients.  I’m really glad I was able to do this, since I’m not sure if I’ll ever let my hair get that long again!

So of course I have pictures.  (After all, I had my very own personal professional photographer on hand to take before and after pictures! ;))

Before…

…and after!

(click below)

I love it!  I haven’t had bangs since I was really young.  I always had those big, thick, straight bangs when I was a kid.  And then once in the 10th grade I had really [ugly] wispy bangs.  But now they’re a lot more modern and grown-up style bangs, and very flirty.  It’s nice for a change.  It was most definitely time.  And it’s so much better to have short hair in the summer!


Actions

Information

10 responses

8 07 2010
Malorie

You look like Zooey Deschanel with your cute bangs! Very pretty!

8 07 2010
sarahgilmour

Thanks, Mal!

Funny you say that. Ironically, Zooey Deschanel served as my inspiration of bangs that were TOO long. Lol.

8 07 2010
lauraace

Sarah, I adore your new hair style. It’s perfect for you, and it really makes your pretty blue eyes pop out more! It seems like you are satisfied & that you got the new, fresh style you were wanting! You have such the perfect mixture of your dear, beautiful, and sexy style! I love it, I bet Tobias does too! I can’t wait to see it in person! Oh and I bet if you played around with some dramatic eye make-up you would get another new look too; however, you don’t need make-up at all with that natural beauty🙂

8 07 2010
sarahgilmour

Thanks for such a nice comment, Laura! Yeah, I really love it – and I’m not in pain anymore when I try to brush out my hair! It’s so much easier to wash, brush and style. Also, it seems to do fine even if I air-dry it instead of blow-drying it, so it’s also low-maintenance! (Though I will have to get my bangs trimmed more often.) And you’re right – Tobias loves it, too. Hehehe.

That’s cool, I hadn’t thought about trying eye make-up. I barely own any makeup these days, LOL. But perhaps we should try that this weekend!!! 😀

8 07 2010
Kristin

Whew! I was so glad to see it was still long:) I love it. You do look like Zooey Deschanel in these pictures. Can’t wait to see it in person.

8 07 2010
sarahgilmour

Yeah, I told the hairdresser I still wanted it a long style (not a short bob or anything), but was okay with it being a little shorter if it had to be for the donation length (at least 8 inches). But it turned out to still be longer than I expected even with the donation, so I was really excited. And everything feels short compared to how long my hair was before!

8 07 2010
Julia

I TOTALLY agree with the Zooey Deschanel comment. She was the first person I thought of when I saw your pictures. You just have the face …what they’d look for in an actor or a model.

I kept preparing to cringe because your long hair is so incredible. But I know exactly of what you speak about what a pain it can be. Which is why I cut mine so dramatically (hate it but it’s growing!) But I was surprised by how wonderful it looks! Great job! Great choice. You are so lovely!!!!

8 07 2010
sarahgilmour

Thank you, Julia! Haha I love how many people are cringing about the idea of my hair being super-short. Lol. I’m so glad I put the results behind the cut, haha! This has been fun.

Yeah, although I also understand your really short cut too – babies always grab hair, and they yank it hard sometimes! Sorry you hate it though. I still think you look gorgeous, though!

8 07 2010
Erika

beautiful! I love the fringe, it really highlights your gorgeous eyes. Welcome to the States by the way!

8 07 2010
Karl

Que tu (et les cheveux) sont belle(s)!

Leave a Reply

