Paris Apartment

28 06 2010

One thing I will miss about this Paris apartment is the beautiful sunset I get to see from my window every evening.

There are, however, plenty of things I won’t miss about this apartment.  For instance, the fact that it’s freezing cold in the winter.  Or the loudness of the streets below my bedroom.  Or having no floor-length mirror and doing lots of guessing about outfits (or taking photobooth pictures, ha!).

But I think the thing I’ll miss the least is the fact that  if I have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I have to grab my keys, walk down the hallway, and unlock the door to my other room in order to reach the bathroom.  Having two separate, locked rooms in a hallway shared with other people is strange, and feels more like college dorm life than real life.

And did I mention how darn cold it was this winter?  *shiver*

But, all in all, it was a nice place.  Great location.  Near the Champs-Élysées, Place de la Concorde, Tuileries, the Louvre.  25-minute walk to the Marais or the Eiffel Tower.  Very central!

If any of you are curious to see what my apartment looks like from the inside, here are some pictures for you (and for me, to look back upon fondly!).  Come on in!

This is the door into my main room.

Window in my main room. When Tobias is here, we eat meals at that table at the window.

My big desk, in the middle of the room!

My desk area.

Cluttered shelves.

Kitchen cupboard, gas stove, table.

The door.

The couch, on the messy side. Normally that blue cover thing goes on it. But it always falls down, because it's not really a couch cover, but a set of sheets.

Schach Novelle poster from Tobias, decorations left over from Valentine's day, a postcard from Peter from Istanbul, and a picture of Tobi and I at the Hirschorn in DC.

Kitchen again

Gas off? reminder sign on the door.

I always hung my keys on this hook on the door so I wouldn't forget where they are.

Corner pantry and cleaning products on the ground next to the washing machine

Dishes drying on top of the blue fridge

The bathroom!

The shower, shelves and medicine cabinet

Close-up of the shelves in the bathroom

shower curtain

Inside the TINY shower

my towel, and the makeshift jewelry-holder I made by taping an undergarment hanger to the wall upside-town

me making silly faces in the mirror🙂

Now, on to the bedroom!

My bed, which was actually quite comfortable, despite the fact that it was on the ground.

Shelves, radiator and a big chest by the door that usually holds my suitcases.

The mantle on the wall across from my bed. On it: a sculpture of Tobias made by his sculptor friend, Rosy; a little clay house Tobi made when he was a kid; a big framed picture Tobias gave me for Christmas two years ago, of us in the Palais de l'Élysée; and a smaller framed note T left me once when he left that says "good night, sleep well" in German

My wardrobe - clothes & shoes galore

The little linen closet between the window and the fireplace

I love this little trash can in the bedroom. It has shiny gold stars on it. 🙂

A sticker on the edge of the medicine cabinet/mirror in the bedroom.

And last, the window of my bedroom. There is an office building across the street. Below, various shops and an art gallery, and a boutiques store. Across the street, the President's house. The trash trucks always wake me up at 5 a.m. and then the businesses below make a lot of noise early in the morning, too.


Actions

Information

3 responses

28 06 2010
tobias

i love your eye for the little nice details.

28 06 2010
sarahgilmour

Thanks, Tobias. I wanted to make sure I remembered some of those little details. 🙂

30 06 2010
Malorie

There is nothing wrong with a bed on the ground! We slept with our mattress on the ground before a couple years before we had the money to buy a nice set.🙂 I love your little apartment. And also, I can’t believe how long your hair is! It looks like it is as long as it was way back at Grace, when you sat in front of me and every time you’d whip around to say something to me, your hair would smack me in the face.😛

Leave a Reply

