Toiletries & the beginning of summer

24 05 2010

How often is it that you run out of all of your major toiletries at once?  With the exception of toothpaste and shaving cream, I bought everything else I could possibly need.  Well, not really, because let’s face it: I’m a female, and I have countless quantities of lotions, creams, sprays, you name it.  But I did buy toothbrushes, deodorant, shampoo/conditioner, face wash, and sunscreen today.

The most exciting (but depressingly expensive) purchase was the sunscreen.  Summer has arrived in Paris this past weekend, and I have spent a significant amount of time outside.  Today it’s a high of 29˚C (that’s in the 80s, for you Fahrenheit people).  Hot stuff.  Well, I do have some sunscreen that was left over in the apartment when I moved in.  But SPF 8 doesn’t work very well for someone with my pale skin tone.  (Unless I apply it every 15 minutes, but who wants to spend their day applying sunscreen?)

Usually I get SPF 50 or above, but I decided to go a few euros cheaper and get SPF 30.  It can’t be that much of a difference, right?

Here comes the sun

“Here comes the sun!”  (My little tribute to the Beatles.)

It feels like summer.  I’m honestly not sure I am ready for the heat of summer.  But anything is better than the bitter cold we experienced this winter!  I just may need to invest in an ice cube tray.

This weekend has been full of sunny adventures.

Friday night: a picnic on the Pont des Arts.

Lots of other people had the same idea we had. The bridge got even more crowded as it got later!

Kate, Libby & Sara on the Pont des Arts

Bread, cheese, tomatoes, grapes, strawberries, paté, dinosaur cookies, and lots of wine!

Saturday: lounging in the Jardin de Luxembourg with Sara, Libby and Hannah, and then a long, sunny walk back home.  I joined them later that evening for ice cream and white wine.

Beautiful roses by the Pereire metro stop.

Lovely! That makes it feel like spring!

White wine. We also had one bottle of rosé.

Sunday: falafel and FroYo in the Marais district.  Mmmm, delicious.

We got it from the famous "L'as du Falafel". It was very tasty!

Hannah & Sara with their FroYo

Paula & I with our FroYo

The purpose of this picture is to make you jealous. Are you salivating yet? (I am!)

Monday: it’s a holiday weekend, so no work today.  Nice, but I’m a little tired of hanging out in the sun.  However, it’s so nice out that I think I might just go sit in the shade somewhere in the little park nearby.  Just wish I had some company!


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 05 2010
Jon

Would you like a Falafel with that? (I’m not Turkish… or a sailor…)

24 05 2010
sarahgilmour

Haha! Great response! I forgot about the Falafel reference in Extreme Days! Makes me wanna watch that movie again!

Leave a Reply

