Switzerland Vacation

12 11 2009

Hey everyone!  I’m back, and wanted to share a few photos from Switzerland, even though most of you have probably seen them all on facebook already.  I haven’t been in the blogging mood since I got back.  I was getting re-acclimated to Paris & city life after some time in the fresh air and beautiful mountains of Switzerland.  First, here are a few photos from our weekend in Braunwald:

We also spent some nice days in downtown Zürich, and staying with T’s brother and his girlfriend in Dübendorf.  They have a three-month-old daughter, and T. and I had a great time there visiting with the three of them.  Here are a few photos from Zürich:

I had such a wonderful time with my boyfriend there.  We have so much fun together.  And it was quite a change of pace from the city life of Paris.  Zürich is a city, too, but it has SUCH a different feel.  It’s got the beautiful lake, and it’s a more colorful city, with lots of nature.

An interesting thing about being in Switzerland was hearing Swiss German.  It is SO different than high German…even T. and his family said they have a hard time understanding Swiss German.  I almost don’t stand a chance!  (Though I understood a lot more German & Swiss German than I ever expected!)  For your viewing pleasure, here are a few videos that show the Swiss German accent:

And now back to the daily grind.  Almost…

Now I am sick again.  A different sort of cold than the one I posted about last time.  I feel nauseous, have a lot of congestion but a runny nose, and have a raspy cough.  I felt bad on Monday while I was teaching – pretty weak, fatigued and a little out of it.  Tuesday was even worse, but I made it through the day.  I even got observed by my academic counselor, and she said I did a great job, and that I have teaching “dans la peau” (meaning I’m a natural teacher).  But by the end of the day, I was so wiped out.  I trudged my way to the train station with my heavy bags (even heavier because I collected homework) and slept a little on the train, fighting back nausea.  By the time I got to my place, I could barely make it up the stairs.

Well, sickness isn’t fun to read about, so I will spare the rest of the gory details.  I have medicine now, which Peter was so very kind to bring to me after I was unable to find an open pharmacy in my neighborhood because of the holiday.  (Seriously, it’s like you don’t have the right to get sick in France on weekends or on holidays, because all the pharmacies are closed.  I guess one could go to a doctor, or to a hospital if it were serious enough of a sickness, but for that, one needs a social security number, which I still have not received…that is another whole issue I’m currently frustrated about, but I won’t go into that now.)

Hopefully the medicine will help.  I’m drinking tea nonstop.  I’m also watching Friends nonstop again.  Sigh.  I just don’t have the energy for anything else.  I’ll try make a new post soon.  I have a few interesting things to share!


Actions

Information

2 responses

14 11 2009
Julia

Breathtaking Sarah!!!!!!!!!!! I JUST LOVE EGGER!!!!!!!!!! How awesome is that Gnome! LOL. He’s so much better than the …what is it ? Expedia?

Anyway, beautiful and I can’t tell you how much I am enjoying pictures of your adventures.

18 11 2009
Sue Gilmour

Sarah – the Swiss-German sounds Swedish almost – a lot more sharp edges, if you know what I mean.

I’m sorry you’ve been sick – do you think you’ve had the flu?

Leave a Reply

