Quick update.

8 10 2009

It’s always hard to write about everything that happens, when it happens.  It’s a good thing: it means I’m living life.  It also means I’ve been busy, both with work and recreation.  Still, I would like to attempt to catch you all up on what’s been happening here.

Friday, Oct. 2: Orientation

I took the wrong train and got a little lost on the way to orientation, but I was only 1/2 hour late.  The lady who was leading the orientation went over the massive amount of paperwork we had to do; the problem was, she went way too fast.  Now I’m sitting here up to my ears in paperwork and I’m not quite sure what to do next.  It’s one of those “you need this to get this, but you can’t get that until you have that.”  How do you break into the catch-22 system?

There were 15 of us there, all primary school teachers.  10 were British, 5 were American.  There was only 1 guy.  I went to McDonald’s for lunch with a couple of British English assistants and learned all sorts of fun words like “jumper” and “maths.”  The second half of the day was devoted to actual teaching.  A teaching advisor gave us all sorts of great ideas and advice on how to teach English to French kids.  That was really helpful, and made me feel a lot more confident about teaching.

Saturday, Oct. 3: Nuit Blanche

Nuit Blanche in Paris!  T. arrived that evening, and we went out and hit the town.  Here are some of the things we saw:

We stayed out until 4:30 in the morning.  There were quite a few cool and random things to look at, but it it wasn’t as much as it was the last time I went to Nuit Blanche.  It was still fun, and I’m glad I went.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

