Buying a cell phone

22 09 2009

Yesterday, we went to the Orange store next to La Madeleine (a church right nearby my old host parents’ apartment).  It was really busy, and there were a ton of people in there.  No one noticed when we went upstairs to the mobile phones and looked at all the models.  We went back there today to play with the phones again, to make our final decisions.

When we arrived, there were very few customers in the store, and two gorgeous young vendeuses (salespeople) greeted us and asked if they could help us with anything.  I said, “Non, merci,” and smiled at her as we walked up the stairs.

It was funny how quickly I made my decision after yesterday’s agonizing over getting the “right” cell phone for me.  We went back downstairs to let the salespeople know we were ready to buy a phone.  A gentleman started with Peter, and I waited for my turn.  Then, one of the vendeuses who had greeted us when we entered came to help me.

I explained to her that I wanted to buy a téléphone portable with mobicarte (a rechargeable phone sans contract), and that I had already made my choice of which phone I wanted.  She laughed and said, “That is why I asked if I could help you when you came in; you’re only supposed to go up there with a sales representative.”  Oups! I apologized to her, and explained that I had gone up there yesterday to look at the phones, and that I couldn’t decide, so that’s why I went up there this morning.  Hmm.  Well, she didn’t stop me!  I didn’t know I had been doing it “wrong,” especially since I had gone up there yesterday.  That just shows something: in France (and possibly elsewhere), people don’t care what you do as long as you do it with confidence.  Unless they actually stop you from doing something, that is.

The process itself was easy: she brought the phone down to her computer, I presented my identification, she entered in my name, and set everything else up for me.  I now have a French cell phone.  And the funny thing is, I chose one that was not one of my “three choices” from yesterday.  (Ha!)  I’m just full of surprises.

Le voilà: a new Nokia 2680 slide.  With camera, video, and some pretty…interesting ring tones.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

