Packing is always harder than you think.

16 09 2009

I shouldn’t have said anything about packing being “easy” in my last post.  Boy, was I delusional!

I tried to pack my big suitcase and couldn’t get it shut.  That’s a problem, considering I had packed no jeans, underwear, socks or toiletries.

Time for some major downsizing.

Besides, I don’t need ALL that stuff.  I’m going to have to unpack my suitcases and separate the things I really LOVE from the things that I like and wanted to bring with me.  That’s always hard to do.  That means I have too much stuff.  But hey, I’ve got two things against me: 1) I am an American, and 2) I am a woman.  But I am also one who will prevail over this packing dilemma.

Before I sign off, here is a helpful packing tip for using bubble wrap.  I looked this up today, as I had always wondered about this:

Fragile items + bubble wrap:  Bubble wrap should be used with the bubble side directly against the object you’re wrapping.  That way, any impact is distributed among several bubbles at a time, and the object has a better chance of surviving.  (Yes, I’m still planning on taking those picture frames…even if it means I take less clothes!*)

*and therefore have to buy more clothes in France!

I’ve also always wondered about which side of aluminum foil to use for which purpose.  Anyone know the answer?


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

