About the silence…

15 02 2009

I wasn’t meant to be a writer. Inspiration is hard to find these days.

Work, work, work…

Can we say busy? Survived inauguration. And Valentine’s.

Next big one is…restaurant week, which is next week (February 16-22nd). And then March and April for the cherry blossom festival. I’ve already been reading up on the festival for the past few weeks, so that I may be more prepared when the time comes.

But that’s enough about work. I’m off today and tomorrow. No need to think about it. I don’t want to.

Another episode of “The Paris Process”

I can’t believe I didn’t write about this before, because it was a decisive step in my plans to move abroad: I sent in my application to be an English assistant in France.

I ended up choosing Paris région or Strasbourg as my geographical preferences. Won’t hear anything back from the embassy until at least the end of May. But hey! That puts me one major step closer to Europe!

Did I mention that I almost moved to DC?

Just a few weeks ago, I was in the thick of an all-out apartment search. I wanted to move to DC, to decrease my commute, to gain a little more independence and be able to more fully appreciate DC and experience what it has to offer. After my good friend and would-be roommate changed his mind about moving downtown in favor of staying home and saving money, I looked at a couple of places for myself.

I found the perfect place; a studio sublet for 6 months while the owner was away for an internship. $900/month, sunny, beautiful apartment. And I almost took it.

But then everyone in my life (literally everyone) started telling me it didn’t make sense for me to do that. That it would be better to stay at home, pay no rent, and save up that $900+ a month. It will put me in a much better place when I have to move overseas. It will make it much easier.

So I took their advice. And, while I was initially a tad disappointed, I feel I have made the right choice. Not only am I saving a ton of money, but I can also spend some now on fun things. Like buying myself a new pair of Levi’s, a.k.a. the most expensive jeans I’ve ever bought for myself.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

