Monkey Donuts

17 07 2012

In class last week, I lamented the fact that there is no Dunkin’ Donuts in Hamburg. But one student piped up and said, “There is a donut shop near the university!” and whipped out her iPhone and had a name and an address for me within seconds. It’s called Monkey Donuts, and it’s apparently Hamburg’s first (and, so far, only) donut shop! I am sooooo excited about this!

This past weekend, Tobias and I were in the neighborhood and I decided we had to stop by! Walking in was like…the most amazing thing ever, seeing all of those colorful donuts all lined up – Dunkin’ Donuts style!

We got a half a dozen. Tobias got a classic (chocolate with vanilla cream), nougat, and caramel crunch, and I opted for a marshmallow, a monkey nut (banana split), and a classic. Let me tell you, it was really hard to make a decision, but I know I’ll be back to try more flavors! They’re delicious! My marshmallow one even had a few mini marshmallows on top (which slid down to the middle in transport). Mmmmm!

AND to make life even more perfect…THEY. HAVE. CREAM. SODA. This is a huge deal to me, because cream soda is one of the things you can’t really find over here, and it’s one of my favorites that I miss.

So you can bet that I’ll be going back there sometime! You can even order donuts online, and if you get your order in by 6 p.m., they’ll be delivered the following day. (Of course, the minimum order is 24 donuts, so it would have to be for a big party, and not just your normal breakfast!) The neighborhood I live in is also close enough to get free delivery! Sweet! I’m thinking…wedding day breakfast?

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 07 2012
CN Heidelberg

Ooh, jealous!! Tell them to open a Heidelberg branch! :)

17 07 2012
Susan Gilmour

Sounds wonderful! Can’t wait to try some in Hamburg!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers