Finally an update

20 11 2010

I caught the cold that’s going around here, and it really knocked me out this week.  I even even had to cancel Tuesday evening’s classes and laid in bed from 1 p.m. until the next morning when I had to wake up for work at 5:45.  Thanks to some TLC from my boyfriend and drinking lots of fluids, I’m starting to feel better.  I actually feel a little worse today than yesterday, but perhaps I’m just tired from all the packing we’ve been doing to prepare for our move on Monday.

Our move involves four parts.  1) Putting all the IKEA stuff together in the new apartment.  2) Packing up things in our old apartment.  3) MOVING those things from one apartment to the other.  And 4) Painting the old apartment back to white.

We’ve been collecting banana boxes from local supermarkets.  We now have approximately 30 of them!  Certainly no need to buy cardboard boxes here.  We spent all morning and afternoon packing things up, labeling boxes, and stacking them up out of the way.  But of course it’s kind of chaotic, as you can see in the picture!  Moving wouldn’t be moving without having to climb over boxes for a week or two.

Progress in the new apartment

Things are coming along quite nicely.  Tobias has impressed me quite a bit with his building, plumbing and carpentry skills.  I was pretty good at figuring out the instructions to put the bookshelves and kitchen drawers together, along with other smaller items, but the stuff we did tonight was totally out of my league.  Using a circular saw that a friend generously let us borrow, he cut the countertop for the kitchen this evening.  Now we just have to wait for the big electrical appliances….

The drawers aren’t really blue, don’t worry.  That’s just the protective plastic cover.  It’s starting to look like a real kitchen, though, isn’t it?  We’re so excited!  There is still a lot of work left to do on it, though.

I’ll definitely be M.I.A. the next few days again.  We move on Monday from 10-2, and then I have to go to work after that.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers